Skip to content

Photo Contest

August 22, 2009

My entry for Gardening Gone Wild’s August Picture This Photo Contest can be found at the end of this post. First, a bit of background. This is only my second year gardening and I love taking pictures. Many of them are just pictures of the various plants around the yard, but some chronicle the changes through the seasons and the things I learn about gardening. The theme for this month’s contest is “Down on Your Knees”. I regularly wander the yard and take pictures, but this was especially interesting for the change in perspective and new discoveries.

A few of the things I discovered down on my knees were

mushrooms

mushrooms,

dragonfly

a dragonfly,

wasp with worm

and a wasp with worm.

I followed the wasp for several feet as he traveled through the back yard. It was interesting watching him carry a worm bigger than he was.  At one point, the wasp carried his prey on top of a rock wall I had begun constructing. He seemed to be posing, but I think he was just confused by the new rock in his path. He climbed back down the way he had come.

wasp on rock

wasp posing on rock

Shortly afterwards, he left his prey to chase me off, which didn’t take much effort on his part. I turned my attentions to less dangerous subjects. I especially like the morning dew on this nasturtium.

nasturtium

nasturtium

I tried for contrasting plant textures with this yucca, newly transplanted in front of  the forsythia.

yucca and forsythia

yucca and forsythia

I caught a rare image of my garden fairy at rest. This is one of her favorite spots in the garden. When she stands on this rock, she is surrounded by maple leaves.

gardenfairy at rest

garden fairy at rest

While taking these photos was fun and they are all interesting photos, none is quite what I was after. They are all simply photos of a particular subject. Eventually, I found a shot that stood out from the rest. But first, a little more story. The next photo is taken from the end of my vegetable garden, which was my first garden project. That’s a story all it’s own. Everything else around the yard is still a work in progress. In this photo, the subject for my contest entry is barely even seen, definitely not noteworthy. The rocks were in this space temporarily, after being dug out of my veggie plot last year. They were moved sometime after this picture was taken. The little triangular space between the gravel and the veggie garden is becoming a sedum garden.

sedum garden

sedum garden

My husband pointed out this rooster. I didn’t think of hen and chicks as particularly interesting, but they were pretty cheap at the local garden club sale. The rooster added a bit of interest, but not much.

rooster

rooster

I thought he might be more interesting in this evening shot, but still didn’t find anything spectacular.

rooster in the evening

rooster in the evening

It wasn’t until I was down on my knees, in the quest for my contest entry, that my opinion of the lowly hen and chicks was transformed. I just love this photo. The change in perspective makes all the difference in the world. The largest hen is probably less than two inches tall. From above, it’s unremarkable. From this vantage point, down on my knees, and the play of light and shadow, I get the feeling that I’m catching a glimpse of some alien landscape. If you look closely, you may find the rooster, now dead and shriveled, and a new rooster, just taking off.

So, here is my contest entry. I hope you enjoyed the adventure through the yard as much as I did.

Contest Entry - Sedums

Contest Entry - Landscape in Sedums

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2009 5:40 am

    Hiya,

    You really got down low there, didn’t you?
    Up close and personal with your sedums.
    I am trying to establish whereabouts you are. New blog?
    I like your header picture best of all. That tells a story or two…
    EVERYTHING of interest? You’re going to need a lot of acreage :-)

    • Kate permalink*
      August 23, 2009 8:47 am

      Hi, Jo. Thanks for stopping by. Yes, the blog is new. This wasn’t meant to be the first post, but I’m a little behind and wanted to make the deadline. So, the introduction will have to come next. I garden in Connecticut, zone 6.

  2. August 24, 2009 9:52 pm

    Looks like you had a lot of fun with the subject of this contest. I like the photo you chose.

    • Kate permalink*
      August 25, 2009 8:28 am

      Thanks, Teresa. I did have a lot of fun with this. I’ve always enjoyed photography and only just started learning about gardening. There’s so much to discover and enjoy. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

