Skip to content

Introduction

August 25, 2009

The introduction ought to have come first, but the contest deadline was looming and time got away from me. I’ve been thinking of starting a garden blog for a few months. Now, I finally have. The contest and the photos inspired by it were just the motivation I needed.

I haven’t always gardened, but I think I’ve always been a gardener. It equates to nurturing and watching living things thrive under my care. I remember tending a vegetable garden with my aunt one summer, long ago. I might have been seven, but I’m not sure. I do remember picking zucchini and eating fresh zucchini bread, still warm from the oven, with just a dab of butter. We moved not long after that and my opportunities and interests changed. As an adult, I lived in an apartment and had no space to garden. Over the years, I satisfied the urge to nurture living things with a couple of husbands, a couple of kids, many fish, a cat, a pair of guinea pigs, and way too many hamsters.

Last year, we bought our first house. Lucky for me, it came with a yard and space to garden. There isn’t much sun, but that won’t stop me. My yard is not exactly a blank canvas, but I have so many ideas. I don’t think I’ll live long enough to make them all a reality, but it’ll sure be fun trying. These are some of the spaces I’ve got to work with. The veggie garden is done, mostly. Some of the other areas are already works in progress.

Front Yard May 2008

Front Yard May 2008

Heart Garden

Heart Garden

Veggie Garden, as it was

Veggie Garden March 2008

Backyard Tree Garden

Backyard Tree Garden Spring 2008

Side Garden

Side Garden April 2008

Mailbox Garden May 2008

Mailbox Garden May 2008

Driveway March 2008

Driveway March 2008

North Side Garden March 2008

North Side Garden March 2008

Back left 2008

Back left 2008

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

