Skip to content

Tomatoes

September 3, 2009

Woohoo! My first brandywine pink is ripe. I have had my eye on this tomato for a BLT since it plumped up. The only question is… will I enjoy it for lunch tomorrow, alone… or wait until Saturday and share the BL&freshT goodness with Kirk. It’s funny how beautiful an ugly tomato is when you’ve planted, nurtured, and harvested it yourself. I sowed the seed for this little guy way back in the beginning of February. Roughly seven months later, I have my first pink tomato. I would never buy such an ugly tomato from the supermarket, but can’t wait to try this one. The results will have a large influence on how many tomatoes I grow next year. They’re awfully finicky plants and I don’t even like them much.

brandywine pink

I also picked another batch of romas and bloody butchers for sauce. The first batch of sauce was made with burger and sausage and eaten right away. This batch will probably be plain sauce and frozen. If I have more success with the paste tomatoes next year, I may look into a strainer instead of hand pealing these babies.

tomatoes
4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 6:50 pm

    Brandywine pink is a nice name for this tomato. I think the most delicious veges are from our very own garden. Our sweat and toil is the value added to this product.

    • Kate permalink*
      September 4, 2009 9:05 am

      I think you’re right about that. I love the freshness and convenience I can get from walking out to the garden and picking what I want. There hasn’t been as much of that this year as I’d like due to damaging weather patterns, but that will just make next year even better.

  2. September 3, 2009 10:23 pm

    Now that is a tomato face that only a mother could love. i bet it tastes great and you will enjoy it so much since you labored over it’s existence from the beginning. I enjoyed reading your posts.

    • Kate permalink*
      September 4, 2009 9:08 am

      Thanks, Teresa. It’s funny, it didn’t taste as great as I hoped, but it certainly was improved by knowing I had grown it myself.

Leave a Reply

