Skip to content

In the Garden

September 7, 2009
Butterfly

butterfly on butterfly bush

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 2:03 pm

    Lovely picture – just found your blog!

    • Kate permalink*
      September 9, 2009 9:17 am

      Thanks, Charlotte. 🙂

  2. September 8, 2009 11:03 pm

    butterfly on a lantana?

    • Kate permalink*
      September 9, 2009 9:31 am

      Autumnbelle, thanks for your willingness to correct me. I have so much to learn. However, this one is a butterfly bush, Buddleia davidii. I don’t know which cultivar, though. It was here when I moved in. It was identified for me and I looked it up to learn how to care for it. I looked up lantanas and they are very similar. From what I read, lantanas like a warmer climate and have saucer shaped flowers. It doesn’t show in this photo, but the flower is much longer.

      I hope you will continue to share your corrections when I misidentify something. I was waiting for someone to tell me my butterfly is really a moth. I have no idea what the technical difference is, but it wouldn’t surprise me. I’m sure I will get it wrong sooner or later. Kirk asked me which was which, once. I know it’s not correct, but I told him if it’s pretty, then it’s a butterfly and if it’s plain, then it’s a moth. I wouldn’t begin to know how to correctly identify them.

Leave a Reply

