Skip to content

September Bloom Day, Part II

September 17, 2009

Fall is in the air. The trees are beginning to show their colors. Leaves have started falling to the ground. The days are numbered for the veggie garden. Even still, some plants are still blooming. The gourds only started producing female flowers this week, probably too late to mature, but we’ll see. Hopefully, that bee was doing his job there. The polkweed is actually next to the garden, not in it. I’ve been advised to get rid of it because it’s poisonous and I have a toddler, but it’s not in a location she can reach. I’ll look it up and read more about it, but for now, I have plans for the berries. I was told they were used to make ink at some point, so I’m going to experiment with them in a fiber dying project. If it doesn’t go well, I’ll have no reason to let the weeds live. Well, they do grow extremely fast and might be good in the compost without the berries. Hmm…

tomatoe, brandywine pink

tomato, brandywine pink

pepper

pepper

eggplant

eggplant

cucumber

cucumber

cinnamon basil

cinnamon basil

gourd

male gourd

female gourd

female gourd, with bee

polkweed

polkweed

polkberry

polkweed berries

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 9:30 am

    “Fall is in the air” are words I so envy. Still hot and muggy down here but the sun is not quite so intense. Nice job on the pix and enjoy the season.
    Scott

    • Kate permalink*
      September 18, 2009 10:25 am

      Thanks, Scott. I’ve visited the area a couple of times, but I can’t imagine living in your climate. I’m sure there are advantages, but it’s so different. I will enjoy the beauty of your tropical blooms through your blog.

  2. September 17, 2009 11:42 am

    Some people actually eat Pokeweed, though it has to be done correctly or it is poisonus: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pokeweed – if you find out a way to get rid of them, let me know! It seems pretty much impossible. They aren’t bad looking and the birds like them, though, so I let them be more or less!

    • Kate permalink*
      September 18, 2009 10:40 am

      I didn’t realize pokeweed was so difficult to get rid of. It was such a small plant when it first popped up, but it grew so fast. The link you give says it is a perennial and can get two to three times the size of mine, which would not be good where it is. There’s only the one plant so far, but it sounds like that is one too many. I’ll have to watch for bird spread volunteers next year. Hopefully, it won’t be too bad since I plan to collect the berries for dye. Thanks for the info.

  3. September 17, 2009 11:57 am

    I’ve never thought that a cucumber’s flower looks so romantic…

    • Kate permalink*
      September 18, 2009 10:41 am

      I have many pictures of fully open cucumber blooms, but that one seemed much more interesting. I’m glad you like it.

  4. September 17, 2009 9:48 pm

    The gourd blossoms are really beautiful. Fall is such a wonderful time.

  5. Kate permalink*
    September 18, 2009 10:42 am

    I’ve heard from many who don’t like fall because it is the harbinger of winter, but it is such a wonderful time. It’s also cool enough to enjoy working in the garden again. Yay! 🙂

  6. September 18, 2009 11:26 am

    These are pretty little flowers and you have capture them beautifully. Great job!

    • Kate permalink*
      September 20, 2009 7:17 am

      Thanks, Autumnbelle!

  7. September 19, 2009 11:05 pm

    You are so adept at capturing the beauty in vegetable flowers!

    • Kate permalink*
      September 20, 2009 7:17 am

      Sylvana, thanks and welcome to my garden. 🙂

  8. Mom permalink
    November 1, 2009 6:24 pm

    The summer Bunny turned 3 she ate a bunch of Polkweed berries which led to an afternoon of Ipecac and egg white to get her to “return” them. I used to pick them for mudpie cooking, but we didn’t EAT them.

Leave a Reply

