Skip to content

Bare Roots

September 20, 2009

I doubt this is good for the plants, but it is visually intriguing.

bluff point

bare roots at the bluff

bluff point

bare roots at the bluff

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 3:13 am

    I don’t think this is soil erosion, are they? This looks like a mangrove swamp to me. I like the second picture very much.

    • Kate permalink*
      September 21, 2009 8:54 am

      I’m not sure how much soil there was, but it is erosion. I suppose even mostly sand qualifies as a type of soil. The trees and plants grow along a beach in the estuary at Bluff Point. Erosion is carrying the sand out into Long Island Sound. This area of beach is largely gravel. I don’t remember it always being gravel, but my Hubby does. If there was a real sandy beach, it was probably long ago when I was a child.

  2. September 21, 2009 4:31 pm

    I love roots exposed like that. A picture of what we never get to see. Roots have such beauty.

Leave a Reply

