Skip to content

Party in the Garden

October 14, 2009
tags: ,

While the bees can still be found gathering nectar, they are slowing down a bit. On the cooler days, I find bees just resting on the flowers, very still. I’m much more comfortable taking the time to get a close up photo on such occasions.

bee on marigold

bee on marigold

On the warmer days, the bees gather on whatever flowers they can find. I imagine they are enjoying the last of their wild parties before the start of winter.

bees on weed

bees on weeds

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 9:25 am

    You are right on my ‘bees’. Silly me but oh well you live and learn. I have tentatively identified them as German wasps. They were fascinating nonetheless and let me tell you I am SO glad I did not get stung! Thanks for your input. Glad you liked the pics. It was a bit cool that day so that is most likely why I did not get stung. Lucky me:)

  2. October 14, 2009 11:43 am

    This makes me think of these: ‘as busy as a bee’ and ‘make hay while the sun shines’

  3. October 16, 2009 3:14 pm

    Oh my! You have such gorgeous pics with such detail! Now I have huge camera envy 😉 Thanks for faving me and I think you’re pretty spiffy!

Leave a Reply

