Skip to content

Garden Update

October 18, 2009

I’ve edged both sides of the garden bed along the front walk with rocks. I’m pleased with the results. I wasn’t sure I’d like it, but it defines the space and gives the bed a more finished look. The edging also helps contain the soil and prevent runoff while watering. It will be interesting finding plants to live there. The whole bed is part shade, but some parts get more sun than others. The plants here now are dahlias. They’re in the sunniest part, but it’s still not the best place for them.

The weeping cherry has nice fall color, but the forsythia is still green. I’m starting to wonder if it doesn’t change color for the fall. The oak trees don’t really turn colors, either. They just die and turn brown.

The left side of the path is where the pond will be, but that’s a project for the spring.

For comparison, here is the path before the inner edging was added,

front walk

front walk before

and after.

path

front walk

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2009 11:24 am

    I like that!

    I had a similar thought of edging my front border with bull rock- very smooth river stones, but I want them in an 8″-10″ ribbon. I have been mulling it over for awhile, just have not decided if it is worth the effort to convince the muscle of the family. He might not think it such a good idea.

  2. October 18, 2009 3:54 pm

    Hi Kate! It’s a nice path, and that edging, you are right, gives the bed a more finished look.

  3. October 19, 2009 1:56 am

    I can imagine how beautiful this pathway will look after all the plants are planted, especially when it is blooming season.

Leave a Reply

