Skip to content

GADD?

October 20, 2009

The new paisley garden began its life in June as a glorified compost heap. Four months later, there are small clumps of matted leaves here and there, but it is ready to plant in. Now is the time to plant bulbs. I planted my garlic last week. Yesterday was a glorious, sunny fall day. So, I set out to plant some daffodil bulbs in the new bed.

On the way to the paisley bed with the tools, I stopped to dig up some hosta and pulmonaria to add to the new bed. They were given to me last year and put in temporary locations until I had a permanent home for them. The four clumps of hosta were separated into twelve. The pulmonaria seemed to have four little babies that came right off of the main clump.

hosta

hosta

My wheelbarrow was full of dirt that I removed from the veggie bed when I added compost, last week. I emptied that onto the pile of leaves in the new composting bed that I’m working on filling. I wanted to get a load of last year’s leaves to mulch the new plants I’d be planting and raise the soil level. Next to the new bed is the tree garden that needs redoing because its pie chart planting design interferes with my zen. It was such a wonderful day and I was on a roll, so I dug up some irises to move to the paisley bed.

digging iris

digging iris

I found this little guy in the iris patch. I think he’s a green lacewing, a good guy. I hope I didn’t disrupt any egg laying for next year’s good guys. His wings are graceful and pretty, but his head is just disturbing.

lacewing

lacewing

It took a bit of effort to pull apart clumps of irises, but the result was a nice barrow full of irises to help fill in the new bed. Only, then the barrow was full again. I’d have to plant the irises before going back for the leaf compost.

iris

iris

While I was planting the irises, I came across many big fat worms. It’s amazing how they shimmer in the  sunlight.

worm

worm

The divided transplants are all babies again, but I’m hoping they grow well in the spring.

pulmonaria

pulmonaria

Hmm, the bed looks good, but I don’t see any daffodils here.

freshly planted

freshly planted

What’s that? Newly planted daffodils won’t be seen until the spring?

fresh

paisley bed

Well, that may be, but it could also be that I never got around to planting them. I may have a touch of gardener’s attention deficit disorder. By the time all these other babies were in the ground, it was time to go in and feed the family. That’s okay, though. Today is another beautiful, sunny day.

fresh

paisley bed

Yesterday was a glorious, sunny fall day. So, I set out to plant some daffodil bulbs in the new paisley bed. The bed
5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 5:20 pm

    GADD(gardeners attention deficit disorder) That is a classic line, one which cracked me up and very much so applies to myself. GREAT POST!!
    I do have one question though…paisley garden refers to the bed shape or the color combinations?
    If you keep wipin’ these new terms on me I may have to start a glossary.LOL.
    Thanks for the pleasurable reading.
    Scott

  2. October 20, 2009 9:05 pm

    Most funny and I do hope those daffys get planted soon.

  3. October 21, 2009 12:15 am

    GADD…LOL! I will have to remember that one because I’m sure I have it! Looks like you have been very busy. I enjoyed your post and will return to see more.

  4. October 22, 2009 9:26 am

    Perfect description! I get GADD all the time. I think it is inherent when things start expanding and you add more and more planting beds.
    Love your description!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog, nice to meet ya!
    Rosey

  5. October 22, 2009 9:29 am

    I just realized I was on autopilot typing this previous comment.
    I am here to say Thanks for faving me on Blotanical. I am such an airhead. See ? Gadd is real! You were right! Anyway, It is nice to meet you. I love your blog, Kate.
    Rosey

Leave a Reply

