Skip to content

The Swarm

October 24, 2009
tags:

My daughter came home from school one day this week and asked me why the ladybugs were attacking.

ladybugs

ladybugs

I went out to see what the fuss was all about.

ladybug

ladybug

Sure enough, ladybugs appeared to be swarming the house.

ladybugs

ladybugs

I poked around the internet and found this is not uncommon this time of year.

ladybug

ladybug

My swarm isn’t even that large.

ladybug

ladybug

I might have a few dozen hanging around the south side of the house.

ladybugs

ladybugs


Some people have reported seeing hundreds, or even thousands, of ladybugs.

ladybug

ladybug

Since the main entry to the house is on the south side, many came in with us.

ladybugs

ladybugs

A couple even came in on the plants I had put back out to enjoy the sunshine.

ladybug

ladybug

Their reproductive season is probably long over, but I’m hoping they leave behind some eggs for next year.

ladybug

ladybug

I’ve never seen ladybug larvae.

ladybug

ladybug

I probably wouldn’t even recognize the larvae if I did see one.

ladybug

ladybug

The pictures haven’t looked especially appealing.

ladybug

ladybug

There are so many different ladybugs.

ladybug

ladybug

Some are redder.

ladybug

ladybug

Some are more orange.

ladybug

ladybug

Some have many spots.

ladybug

ladybug

Some have none.

ladybug

ladybug

My garden fairy wasn’t very pleased.

ladybugs

ladybugs


It was difficult to convince her the ladybugs weren’t really attacking, so we didn’t stay out too long.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 2:10 pm

    I would love to see such a scene here in my garden!

    Thanks for posting!

    Ryan

  2. October 24, 2009 3:03 pm

    Hi, These may be the beetles that bite that aren’t ladybugs. I can’t remember what they are called.

    I have some photos of ladybug larva on my blog. I’m trying to remember if they are labeled. It would be in a post taken from my garden across the street at the neighbor’s yard.

  3. October 24, 2009 6:15 pm

    We had that swarm recently here in Kingston, which I had posted about. It’s such an amazing thing to watch! The larvae of these bugs, believe it or not looks like a small alligator. It’s so strange how different the larvae looks from the bug. The swarm doesn’t happen with native lady bugs that we’re more familiar with, but with Asian lady beetles that, if I remember right, we’re brought here in the 80s? Anyhow, they’re good bugs; they eat aphids by the gazillion!

    Very nice photos!

  4. October 24, 2009 6:16 pm

    Oh, and I do enjoy your blog very much!

  5. October 25, 2009 7:24 am

    When there are too many of one specie, then the there is a broken link in the food chain… yea?.. But at least, there will clean up tiny pests… ~bangchik

  6. October 25, 2009 12:13 pm

    They are called Asian Beetles and believe me you will wish you had never saw them before it is all over. They are stinking dirty little buggers that even the birds won’t eat.

  7. November 2, 2009 12:31 pm

    Interesting about the Asian Beetles. I haven’t ever seen that kind of congregation around my home ~ it does kind of seem like they are “invading!” You sure have a lot of beautiful fall color around. We went from summer to winter this year. Our first frost was killing at 16 degrees, so we lost most of the fall color and went straight to winter brown. It’s nice to be able to see some anyway on other peoples blogs.

  8. February 18, 2010 10:54 am

    I enjoy your site. Check out my ladybugs at http://richwolf.wordpress.com/2009/07/18/the-attack-of-the-ladybugs/.

Leave a Reply

