Skip to content

Autumn Color in Connecticut

October 26, 2009

The past week has seen the peak of autumn color, here in southeastern Connecticut. I live on the coast, where the temperature tends to be a bit more moderate than it is inland. While my neighbors thirty miles to the north have already had a hard frost, I’ve only had light frost a couple of times. I still have blooming annuals.

This week, I’ll be dedicating the blog to Mother Nature and her wondrous autumn color. It’s a bit tricky, the quest for peak color. A bit early, the many oaks are still holding on to their green. A bit late, the early dazzlers have shed their leaves. Peak color comes to the coast slightly later than it does inland. Color quests to the north, even a thirty minute drive, need to be done before the color peaks at home. I will make note of this for next year. I watched and photographed and waited. Peak color arrived and I made plans to capture it. However, the weather interfered. Saturday brought hard rains and strong gusts of wind. By the time I could continue my quest, leaves had been shed in vast numbers. Still, on either side of the peak, there are awesome displays of color. Today, we have the results of my early excursion, October 17th.

geese

geese

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

deer

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

autumn color

For more autumn color, check out the Fall Color Project 2009, hosted by The Home Garden.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 10:40 am

    Beautiful photos! I do love the colours of autumn; I just don’t like the cold that comes with it up here in my northern world!

  2. October 26, 2009 1:12 pm

    Thanks for sharing such a colorful display, I do so miss the autumnal arrays. Here in Florida we still have temps of 80+

  3. October 26, 2009 1:24 pm

    Early there, late here, the color fest. Sassafras is beginning to turn red. Lots of our leaves just fall off, before they turn. Your photos are wonderful, portraying fall as it should be.

  4. October 26, 2009 7:17 pm

    The photos are enough to entertain my eyes. They are so beautiful that no words are needed. Great job! Cheers!

  5. October 26, 2009 8:53 pm

    Oh, how pretty. I love the red berries. What are the birds in the first
    picture? Are they turkeys?

Leave a Reply

