Skip to content

November Dahlia

November 3, 2009

dahlia

Here it is November, and I have a new dahlia bloom. There are a few buds, but this is the first flower. The folded petals remind me of intricate origami creations. Of course, flowers like this were probably the inspiration for those creations. I started this plant from seed, back in the early spring. When frost kills the foliage, I’ll dig up the root and try to over-winter it with the dahlias purchased as tubers.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    November 3, 2009 5:08 pm

    Gosh I love Dahlias, I may have to give some a try Zone 11 or not.
    Scott

  2. Bunny permalink
    November 4, 2009 4:07 pm

    Great composition! Beautiful Flower! I hope you’ll save all these for a BOE down the line. You’re doing such a spectacular job! YAY!

  3. November 6, 2009 1:27 am

    I’m so impressed you started this gorgeous dahlia from seed! I’ve never tried that ~ always bought the tubers. I hope it overwinters so you can plant it again next year.

Leave a Reply

