Skip to content

Appreciating the Neighbors

November 4, 2009

In searching for fall color last week, I also found a few late bloomers in the neighborhood. This solitary spot of bright pink looks like dianthus.
IMG_2526

These look to be a type of native, wildflower aster. I had some in my backyard for a while, too.

IMG_2528

The nasturtiums look great growing amongst the rocks. They seem to prefer the cooler weather of autumn.

IMG_2531

This looks like autumn joy sedum in front, but I have no idea what’s behind it. Both of these were planted recently, at a house down the street. We actually looked at that house before buying ours. It needed more work than we could take on, but the new owners seem to have it under control. The lady of the house has been re-doing the gardens and adding more. She had new daffodils in the spring that were pretty.

IMG_2533

Here’s another garden at the same house. I think this vegetable garden was added this year and it has now been put to bed for the winter. I love that she put it right in the front yard. It’s really the only place for it on that lot. It gets much more sun than mine, but I would have had to work much harder to convince my husband to let me replace the front lawn with a veggie garden. The posts are fabulous, very rustic.

IMG_2534

This hydrangea is right next door. It’s been such a joy to pass by. The colors were even more spectacular a couple days before this photo. I hadn’t given any consideration to planting a hydrangea until I saw the fall glow from this one. I wonder if they all look this great in the fall or only this variety.

IMG_2535

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 11:23 am

    Wow … just one zone different from me and look at how lovely your garden still is! I’m definitely envious. You have a great blog. So glad I found it!

  2. November 5, 2009 1:00 am

    Hopefully you’ll have some flowers for a while to come. At least the leaves provide some great color. Cool that your neighbors put their veggies right out there for all the world to see. Even if it’s the only good location for your neighbor’s plot, it also makes a great statement. My front yard gets close to no added water, so veggies there would die of thirst.

Leave a Reply

