Skip to content

End of Season Bees

November 6, 2009
tags: ,

There aren’t as may bees in the garden. On the cooler mornings, they aren’t at all busy, but can be found resting on the flowers. We’ve had some warm days for them to finish their chores before the cold comes. With most of the flowers passed, the late bloomers are getting extra attention.

bees on dahlia

This is another dahlia, planted from the same mix of seeds as the dark pink one I shared, recently. This one is so soft and delicate, yet fits right in with the bolder colors I enjoy in the garden. I may try dahlias from seed again, but I need to  start them indoors. The two I’ve shared are the only survivors. I also planted seeds directly in the garden, after it warmed, but none of those grew. I’m guessing even these late bloomers’ days are numbered. The overnight low is supposed to be under 30 degrees tonight. Brr.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 5:57 pm

    That’s a beautiful photo. I really like bees. Whenever one finds its way into our house, accidentally, I go out of my way to place it safely back outside. I can’t say the same about the poor flies that end up under a shoe 🙂

  2. November 7, 2009 2:26 am

    I hope your Dahlias survive tonight’s frost. I love bees in the garden. For me, it is the harbinger of spring 🙂

  3. November 8, 2009 12:28 am

    30 degrees? I am not ready for that yet! Stay warm Kate!

Leave a Reply

