Skip to content

Woohoo! We have birds!

November 14, 2009

09nov13bird

I know, lots of people have birds, but this is our first visitor to the new feeder. There have always been birds, but now we are giving them a place to visit, where we can easily watch. There are nests in two of the shrubs in the front. One is in a shrub outside the picture window in the living room. The best thing about that one, was that there is a bare spot in the back of the shrub that allowed us to see right into the nest from that window. We were able to watch as eggs were laid and hatched, without disturbing the birds. The garden fairy loved that. This year, there was too much activity in the front yard while we were redoing the front walk. We found a couple of robin eggs in the other nest, but they were soon abandoned.

The bird feeder isn’t anything fancy. It was very inexpensive, but claims to be squirrel resistant. The yard is covered in nuts and acorns for the squirrels, so I’d like to limit the feeder to the birds, if possible. The garden fairy picked out a bird house, but it hasn’t been hung, yet. The first thing she did after bringing it home, was rush to find her little toy bird. I’ll let her enjoy it while I look up how to install a bird house. It has a chain to hang it, but I don’t know if that’s best for the birds. Perhaps they’d prefer something a little more stable.

Anyway, we hung the feeder a few days ago. This is the first bird we’ve seen using it. We’re thrilled they’ve found it. I may have to get a bird book to help identify them. I don’t know much about birds, but I have seen robins, blue jays, finches, and a cardinal. The cardinal actually flew right up to my screen door, over the summer, and plucked off a large moth. The garden fairy and I were a bit startled, but that was pretty fascinating.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 3:23 pm

    What a cute little bird. It looks like it’s staring right at the camera.

  2. November 14, 2009 4:29 pm

    I believe your little bird is a tufted titmouse. Consider investing in A Field Guide to the Birds East of the Rockies by Roger Tory Peterson. I received my copy as a gift from my kids many, many years ago and I still reach for it on a regular basis. From day one I noted in the margins when and where I first saw each bird, so now my little book is my personal bird-sighting journal.

    Have fun, you’ve started a lifelong enjoyable journey.

  3. November 14, 2009 9:59 pm

    Yeah! It has been officially broken in! What a cute bird. Here is to more friendly visitors all winter long.

  4. November 15, 2009 10:07 am

    Bon Appetit, little fellow!

  5. bluebird09 permalink
    March 24, 2010 2:35 pm

    I like that bird feeder,bought them from Christmas Tree Shop,cheap money.made a swap from a seed feeder to a suet feeder,that is right,suet feeder works well.All you do is take the cube or some may call it a cake and cut into thirds,place inside the feeder and tamp it down until it fills the screen.Works well for my Red-Headed Wood Pecker,Downy Wood Pecker .
    The reason for this conversion,I had a serious squirrel problem,they didn’t like to effort to extract the seed.Plus it saves on buying additional suet.

Leave a Reply

