Skip to content

Digging and Raking and Mulching, Oh My!

November 20, 2009

I managed a good couple of hours of yard work, Wednesday, before breaking the rake. First, I dug up the dahlia tubers, rinsed them off, and left them to soak in well diluted bleach. Then, I tackled the leaves. I started in front and it looks much better now. There are still some straggler leaves in the trees, but I’m hoping they’re not enough to warrant more raking of areas that are finished. There are just too many other chores to do to have to rake over and over.

raked front

I didn’t add more leaves to the heart garden, but I did leave the leaves that had fallen there.

heart garden

I also didn’t add any more leaves to the paisley garden. However, I did pull some off of the areas where I had already already added leaf mold for mulch. With any luck, the weather will hold out until I can get all of the gardens mulched with leaf mold. The fresh leaves dry much too fast and dry leaves decompose much slower, if at all.

paisley garden

Kirk is not fond of my “future gardens”. While they will eventually be pretty gardens with fabulous soil from little effort, until then, they are piles of decomposing leaves… in the front yard. I sympathize with his point of view, but not enough to switch to more labor intensive methods. So, while hauling loads more leaf mold up the hill in back to mulch a pile of leaves is low on the to do list, it is on the list. It would look better mulched, become nice garden soil faster, and make Kirk happier.

future shrub garden

The side yard is also low on the priority list. This is the north side. It gets no sun. Eventually, I’d like to have plant hosta along the foundation, maybe even some other shade plants. So, this is another of my strategic locations for piling leaves. I can always use the decomposed leaves to mulch the other gardens until I get this area planted. That would save me the extra work of hauling the leaves down the hill in back and then hauling the leaf mold back up the hill.
future shade garden

I didn’t get to the leaves in the back. That will have to wait until after Thanksgiving. I’m hosting this year. There is just too much cleaning, shopping, and baking to be done to worry about any more leaves. Oh yeah, I’ll also have to buy a new rake first.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2009 1:55 pm

    What a productive day! I am tired just looking at all you accomplished. Did you finish all of this before your rake broke? Maybe you can ask for a new one for Christmas.

  2. Nell Jean permalink
    November 21, 2009 10:15 am

    Since your Kirk doesn’t like your mulch with whole leaves as is, you could suggest that in the future he take the mower, blow the leaves over next the beds and then BACK the mower over leaves, which mulches them into little pieces and blows them into place. MUCH less work for you. It works for us. The only thing I rake is pine straw, which isn’t effective mulch, chopped up.

  3. November 22, 2009 2:20 am

    I have created many garden beds using piles of leaves. I use whole leaves if I am trying to kill of vegetation underneath and mowed leaves for mulch around established plants. For the whole leaves I soak them with water to keep them in place.
    Looks like you are going to have so much fun next year filling these with beautiful plants!

Leave a Reply

