Skip to content

Wasp

November 23, 2009
tags:

Life is crazy busy this week, full of family drama and preparations for Thanksgiving, which I am hosting. This little wasp visited a couple months ago. He parked himself on the main steps and just relaxed there for much too long. I worried about the garden fairy, still insisting on being bare foot, but I didn’t want to shoo him and get him agitated. Fortunately, when the garden fairy ran out with her bare feet, the wasp had gone.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nell Jean permalink
    November 23, 2009 11:24 am

    I was afraid to look, afraid not to, for fear someone was stung. Not only are wasp stings painful, they’re dangerous for those of us who are allergic.

  2. Drew permalink
    November 23, 2009 4:54 pm

    The wasp is a member of the sphecid family . Adults feed on nectar, while the larvae eat insects. They won’t sting unless you try to handle them.

  3. November 24, 2009 10:20 pm

    I like wasps. They drink at my bird bath and generally leave me alone, as I don’t disturb them. But you wouldn’t want your garden fairy to step on it.

Leave a Reply

