Skip to content

Capturing an Image

December 8, 2009

labyrinth

We had our first snow Saturday night into Sunday morning. There was a dusting one night in October, but it was gone before I woke up. I’m reasonably sure that doesn’t count. I wanted to rush out and take photos of snow in my garden, but we were already rushing out to church and running late. The best I could do was get a few pictures of the snow at church while Kirk took the garden fairy in to Sunday school.

The photo above is my favorite. I’m not thrilled with the clutter in the background, the house, streetlights, and telephone poles. I tried other angles, to avoid the clutter, see more snow, and capture an unobstructed view of the labyrinth. I was able to do this with the photo below. I like this photo, but it’s not as visually interesting as the one above.  One is a photo of a subject, the other a piece of art that captures a mood. Perhaps the clutter adds metaphor, a reminder that peace and tranquility can be found in the midst of life’s busyness, instead of only when we are able to avoid it.

The question that remains: is there enough snow to make this a good shot for a Christmas card, with the right sentiment, of course?

labyrinth

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nell Jean permalink
    December 8, 2009 1:25 pm

    Each to his own, as the old lady said when she kissed the cow. I prefer the bottom photo without all the clutter of wires and traffic lights and house. The labyrinth is identifiable as what it is, not sure in the top photo. The arrangement of the trees in the second one is more pleasing and the horizontal lines are more level.

    Isn’t it odd how different viewers react to different photo? It may make a difference that you are looking at something familiar. It may make a difference that I like to see parts as a whole. If this is about the amount of snow you usually see at your place, it’s perfect for a Christmas card.

  2. December 8, 2009 1:59 pm

    Hello,
    I love the bottom photo as well. It is hard to take the perfect shot when background clutter is present. The labyrinth is just beautiful and I think it makes a great Christmas picture.

  3. December 8, 2009 4:47 pm

    I like the top photo. I can’t quite explain why, but it seems more, oh I don’t know, alive.

Leave a Reply

