Skip to content

Mostly Melted

December 11, 2009

I mentioned in the last post that we had our first snowfall over the weekend. Sunday was incredibly busy, so I have no first snow pictures of my garden. By the time I got out to the garden on Monday morning, most of the snow was gone. What was left was icy and melting. Amazingly, there is still quite a bit of green out there, even under the ice.

mustard

mustard greens

The petunia in the hanging basket has some new growth around its base. Are petunias at all hardy? When I finally cleared leaves away from the garden this past spring, last year’s petunias didn’t look dead. They did after a few freezes while exposed, but would they survive if I cover them? Are they perennials in the south?

petunia

The leaves on this rose look better than they have all summer. Curious.

rose

I don’t know if fungi and lichens die off in winter.

There were chunks of ice where water could pool. I’ve left this hypertufa out to weather a season, so that the chemicals leach out before spring planting. I made a few of these planters in the fall. I’m curious to see how sturdy they are through the winter.

Compost in the making. The nice stuff in front will be spread around the garden in spring. The new leaves from behind will make a fresh pile.

compost

The garden fairy, who has not had any interest in being outdoors through the fall, was happy to go out in the cold for a bit of ice fishing. She is most definitely a water child, loves being out swimming in the summer or playing with the snow and ice in winter.

ice fishing

We told Kirk we had been ice fishing. He asked the logical question, “Did you catch any fish?” To which we replied, “Of course not, silly. We caught ice.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 12:36 pm

    I enjoyed your wintery pictures of your garden. It is amazing that you Petunias are still green. I honestly do not have experience in growing Petunias in areas that get snow, but I do love growing them in the desert in the winter. They do so well here.

  2. December 12, 2009 2:00 pm

    “We caught ice”, how cute!
    I have found that petunias will volunteer, but I have never had them survive a winter. I’m curious too.

Leave a Reply

