Skip to content

December Garden Bloggers Bloom Day

December 18, 2009

geranium

I’m a few days late, but I wanted to share anyway. I brought a few geraniums in for the winter. I read several different ways to over winter them. I have a few cuttings of a lemon scented rose geranium. The small leaves and stems behind the flowers are the parent plant of the cuttings. The flowers are on a plant started from a packet of mixed geranium seeds. The plants are on the small side, so I didn’t take cuttings.  I brought in the potted plants and put them in a cool, sunny room.

water globe

Each pot has a self watering glass ball. I found them at Christmas Tree Shop for$1.99 for a box of two. For that price, what gardener could resist trying them? They seem to be working well. The plants get water slowly, as they need it. The dry leaves are just from the transition to living indoors. The plants have put on new growth since. I just haven’t cleared away the old leaves, yet.

The amaryllis missed December bloom day, but should be open for Christmas.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 9:06 pm

    Even though I don’t have much faith in water globes, I would probably still buy them for $1.99 if only for decoration. Good find!

  2. December 18, 2009 11:49 pm

    I just love the delicate pink shade on the petals of your Geraniums. I don’t see many that color in our area. Winter is the time of year that we grow Geraniums outdoors. In the summer, we bring them inside or just treat them as a winter annual. I didn’t plant any this year….I wish I did, yours is beautiful.

  3. December 19, 2009 11:13 am

    Hi Kate! The blooms on your picture are oh so beautiful! I try different ways of overwintering geraniums (with soil, without soil, hanging, lying, etc.) I also remember that in Russia, we always had geraniums as indoor plants. Never took them outdoor. We had plants which were several years old. I always wanted to try and take at least one plant inside.

Leave a Reply

