Skip to content

Enhancing Flower Photos

December 19, 2009

I was talking to my grandmother, recently. When grandparents get to be a certain age, conversations often include some variation of, “a gallon of gas was 25 cents and milk was a dime.” The discussion this time was about postage and Christmas cards being larger and more costly, especially if there is a long list of recipients. It seems, at one time, Christmas cards were postcards, which require less postage.

It’s a bit late for Christmas cards, but I thought I would have some of my garden photos printed up as postcards for my grandmother. She doesn’t use the computer or email, though she does have two daughters living with her that do and will pass along messages. Still, she doesn’t get out much and enjoys old-fashioned written communication. So, I’ve been working on sorting through my photos and editing them for printing.

before

before

I started with a blank image with the appropriate size and resolution. First, I copied and pasted my image over that. The original image was much larger than the finished requirement. I shrunk and moved the image until I was happy with the crop. I tried cropping, then resizing, but this method was easier to produce a consistent finished size. Then, I over saturated the color and adjusted the brightness and contrast. Ta da! It’s amazing what a difference a bit of editing makes.

after

after

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2009 1:08 pm

    Thank you for your reply on whether or not I was going crazy. Your little one is TOO ADORABLE!!! I’d love to see a video of her saying “Aw, I killed it!!” Too cute. The problem has been resolved (or rather deleted), so I’ll be removing that blog post. Thank you again!!!

  2. December 19, 2009 3:54 pm

    They are beautiful. I am sure that your grandmother will love them.

  3. Annette permalink
    January 3, 2010 10:14 pm

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! 🙂 I’ll go and read some more!

Leave a Reply

