Skip to content

Celebrations

December 29, 2009

December brings one celebration after another. In addition to Christmas and New Year’s Eve, we have my anniversary and birthdays for my mother, grandmother, ex-husband, mother-in-law, and myself. I had planned on cheesecake for my birthday, the day after Christmas, but was missing one of the ingredients. By the time we got our errands finished, there was no time for the cheesecake to set. We can always have it another day, but we had guests and the garden fairy was expecting cake. Fortunately, I had some brownies in the freezer. The garden fairy had great fun frosting them and passing them out to the guests.

birthday cakes

The next day, we celebrated our eighth anniversary. We enjoy each other so much, it’s hard to believe it’s been that long, and we were together four years before we married. At the same time, it also doesn’t seem that long, perhaps because we are best friends and it feels like I’ve known him forever.

A friend assumed we’d be going out to dinner. I suppose that’s the natural thing to do, but we didn’t. I did cook something a bit more gourmet than the usual fare. I made Emeril’s chicken Marsala. I had to add extra liquid and cook it a bit longer than directed, but it turned out fabulous. I’ve never been a fan of new year’s resolutions, but I’m thinking about making a few this year. Meals are usually simple and easy to prepare in a household with children. It might be fun and worthwhile to cook something more gourmet, once in a while. I’ll start with aiming for at least once a month.

chicken marsala

For dessert, I made tiramisu. We had it for our wedding and it’s among the favorites. I used a recipe from Giada De Laurentiis, with a couple of alterations. Instead of all espresso, I used extra strong coffee with a couple shots of espresso from Starbucks. I also substituted Bailey’s for the Marsala and some of the espresso. It had good flavor, but was very runny. The ladyfingers may have been too soft, so I’ll try a different kind when I make it again. There were also clumps of mascarpone, so I’ll try whipping it a bit before folding in the whipped cream.

tiramisu

As good as the treats have been, we’re looking forward to the end of dessert season and the return of garden season, with lots of fresh fruits and veggies. I did have fresh chives for the chicken, but they don’t thrive under the grow lights like they do in the garden. I don’t blame them. I thrive more in the garden, as well.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 3:45 pm

    Belated Happy Christmas, New Year, and assorted birthdays, Kate! Here’s hoping the new year is good to you all.

Leave a Reply

