Skip to content

Amaryllis Update

January 2, 2010

The first amaryllis to bloom, elvas, brightened our holidays with three giant flowers. They are easily six to eight inches across. The first to open is now drooping. It’s interesting how the blooms opened in succession and not all at once. I wonder if the others will do the same. Even more interesting, now that the first stalk is starting to fade, a second stalk has emerged from the bulb and is just beginning to grow. In a few weeks, this magnificent flower will put on another show.

amaryllis

The amigos is coming along nicely, taking her time, but the buds are emerging and showing their rich color. This bulb has two flower stalks, whose growth appears to be somewhat synchronized. Curious, buds emerging from the base of the bulb are unexpected. I suspect this is the work of the garden fairy. She converses frequently with her flower friends to be sure they are happy in their new homes. I can’t imagine the discussion that led to this arrangement.

amaryllis

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 7:01 pm

    Don’t you just love them?This one is a beauty. This was my first year to try them too and I fell in love with them. I recently found some half price so I have plenty now 😉

  2. January 2, 2010 8:00 pm

    You’re so lucky. I just got my amaryllis Christmas eve, and I’m waiting for them to grow. I hope I’m as lucky as you in a couple weeks. Lovely shots!

  3. January 2, 2010 10:57 pm

    I love how beautiful the amaryllis are and what a wonderful surprise that you may be getting more 🙂

Leave a Reply

