Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

January 16, 2010

Yesterday was the first Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day of 2010, hosted by Carol of May Dreams Gardens. I’m a day late, but I have a few blooms to share. Nothing is blooming outside, where the snow is finally melting a bit, but still covering most of the yard. My amigo amaryllis has just finished blooming and is now wilting. It put on quite a show, six bold red blooms, all at once. It would have been eight, but the garden fairy picked two of the buds, early on.

amaryllis

amaryllis

The ruffled pink African violet is just coming into bloom. When I bought it, several months ago, it quickly shriveled up and nearly died. I pruned it and left it under grow lights. It has finally rewarded me with its first bloom and many buds. They only trouble is, when taking the photo I discovered an aphid infestation. Ugh. I knocked off a few buds trying to brush off the suckers. I’ve read that they can be sprayed off with warm water, but I thought African violets don’t like to get wet. Perhaps that’s only cold wet? I guess I’ll have to experiment.

african violet

African Violet

This white bloom is the first on a new African violet, grown from a leaf a friend gave me. I have a couple more babies whose blooms will be a pleasant surprise when I finally see them.

african violet

African Violet

This last one is a bit of a surprise. I brought a few immature coleus plants inside to overwinter and take cuttings from. The garden fairy claimed the small vase of cuttings as her friends. They were lost in a little accident. The potted plants have been under lights and have started blooming. Hopefully, they will continue to do well when they to give up their spot under the lights to the vegetable seeds. I think I’ll take more cuttings and plant them along the front walk. Now that I know how easy they are to overwinter, I’ll splurge on some of the more colorful varieties at the local nursery, this spring.

Coleus

Coleus

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 10:03 pm

    Lovely blooms! Gorgeous photos… If I were a bee … I would fly right into these! ;=)

  2. February 16, 2010 9:09 am

    It seems as if so many gardeners are having to depend on houseplants for this month’s GBBD. With plant-eating cats, I haven’t had that opportunity. Wish I could have the lovely African violets like you do. Love the pink one.

    Jan
    Always Growing

Leave a Reply

