Skip to content

Garden Planning and Review IV

January 29, 2010

The garden fairy loves cucumbers. She snacks on them like many people snack on potato chips. If I don’t cut them up fast enough, she’ll eat them like apples, just biting into them. Fresh cucumbers from the garden are the best.

cucumber

Last year, I grew straight eight and lemon and only managed to harvest several straight eights. It was a terrible year for cucumbers. The weather was so cool and wet, they just couldn’t get off to a good start. Most of the seedlings were devoured by slugs and earwigs. I replanted several times with little success. A few vines managed to survive, but then suffered from another pest, probably squash beetles or cucumber beetles. None of the lemon cucumbers grew. Of the straight eights, about half of those harvested were bitter. I kept thinking I’d pull the vine and then the next one would be okay. So, I’d leave it and then get another bitter one.

straight eight

I thought about growing the lemon cucumbers again, but decided not to. Last year, I bought all my seeds in the local stores. Lemon cucumbers were among the more interesting varieties and an heirloom. This year, I have catalogs and I’m getting organized earlier. There are many more varieties to choose from. I have on order little tyke cuke, which supposedly matures in only five weeks, miniature white, and painted serpent, which says it’s really a melon, but is listed as a cucumber. Depending on how much room I give cucumbers when I draw out the planting pattern, I may pick up a regular green variety closer to planting time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 7:13 pm

    Snacking on cucumber is definitely more healthy than all those processed foods that we usually take. Your cucumber flower is lovely and good luck on your growing venture this year!

  2. January 30, 2010 1:06 am

    What fun to see a cucumber flowering and growing when it is 2 degrees outside!! I love cukes … I need to find a better variety for my garden too. Nice photos! ;>)

  3. February 14, 2010 4:14 pm

    Bonjour!

    I am LuLu at MyPinkTurtle, very pleased to meet you…

    What a lovely blog you have my dear! And a beautiful giveaway too!

    Please add me to your list of participants. And if you haven’t stopped by my place for a little visit, please drop by anytime. My number is 991, all you have to do is click on this link http://mypinkturtle.blogspot.com/2010/01/time-for-one-world-one-heart-giveaway.html and it will open up the door to my studio!

    Wish me luck!

    LuLu

Leave a Reply

