Skip to content

Garden Planning and Review V

February 4, 2010

Have you ever noticed how lovely are the flowers of peppers and eggplants?

eggplant

I planted six eggplants, last year. I think we ate one. The cold, wet weather had a lot to do with it. They’re not a family favorite and we don’t eat them year-round. I like them now and then, when I get a craving. Fresh from the garden, more would get eaten. I like them sliced, battered and fried, but only rarely. Mostly, I chop them up and add them to mixed dishes like chili, ratatouille, veggie lasagna, or a frittata.

peppers

The peppers didn’t have a stellar year either for the same reasons. In addition, I thought my home-grown seedlings were a bit sad looking, so I replaced about half of them with store-bought transplants that looked much better. Once the weather improved, my seedlings caught up and did much better overall. For both of the years I’ve grown them, the jalepenos have out produced all the other varieties.

peppers

This year, I’m skipping the larger common eggplants that take longer to ripen. I have seeds from last year of Japanese long purple. That will be enough. Peppers, well, I don’t know if growing them is an efficient use of my limited space, but I’ll give it another try. I have seeds left for mixed hot peppers and mixed color bell peppers. The only new seeds I bought are Marconi red peppers. If this year is better, maybe I’ll add more in the future.

Peppers and eggplants are heat lovers. They shouldn’t be planted out until the temps are consistently over 55 degrees F. That’s well after most things can be planted and quite late for a short season garden. I read about one grower building a frame around the pepper bed and enclosing it with old windows, leaving the top open. It’s worth a try. If it doesn’t work, they may not be worth the growing space in my small garden.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 12:18 pm

    Kate, so pleased to have discovered you wonderful blog. The first photo is absolutely stunning! And speaking of vegetable gardens: I grow just about everything, but for some reason unknown to me, peppers simply don’t get it. 😉

  2. February 4, 2010 6:49 pm

    I enjoyed your vegetable garden photos – especially the light pink flower -so beautiful. I think you are right to try at least once more with the peppers or any plant for that matter – who knows….you may have a great crop the second time ;^)

  3. February 5, 2010 9:17 am

    I love eggplants, but unfortunately the don’t grow very well here in Ireland.

  4. February 5, 2010 12:37 pm

    You have a beautiful garden blog! Peppers always do great in my garden, no doubt because of the long hot summers we have. One of my first blog posts was on my experience with peppers. If you have time you may want to check it out. You can find it in my archives under titles, “Hot peppers forever in memory”. Good luck with your garden 2010. I look forward to following its progress.

  5. February 14, 2010 9:19 am

    I also love the flowers on potatoes and there is an interesting look to radishes when they go to seed. Your blog is a delight. Thanks for stopping byDung Hoe.
    Rosey

Leave a Reply

