Skip to content

The First Sprouts

February 12, 2010
tags:

The onions are starting to sprout. šŸ™‚

onion sprouts

This is the current seed sowing set-up. It’s a germinating box set into a shallow box of sand with a string of rope lights for a bit of bottom heat. It seems to work. There is a second box that goes in the empty space, but I took it out for the photo. I should probably check the soil temp in the box, but the sand temp is around 76 F. Not bad, considering our thermostat is set around 58 F overnight and between 63 and 68 during the day. I forget who I got the idea from. I also forgot to put in the little terra-cotta pot for the reservoir, but I haven’t needed to add any water yet. Hopefully, by then, more sprouts will be up and I’ll know where to put the pot to avoid disturbing them. I’m not sure this is the best way to start onions, but it’s what I could put together in time to plant on the prime moon phase sowing day this month.

seed set-up

The next moon friendly sowing dates are the 15th and 16th, for flowers and above ground veggies. It’s still pretty early, but there are a few things that need an early start, like some annual flowers, artichokes, and houseplants. I’ll be going through my seeds today to get those ready. I really need to make a chart or calendar so I don’t miss the prime moon dates for seeds that have special requirements, like refrigeration or soaking.

If I disappear from the blogosphere for a bit, you may find me at my resurrected fiber art blog, Everyday Revelations. I have a new project that is quickly gaining obsession status.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 2:18 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful to see the first beginnings of spring as tiny seedlings begin to break through the soil?

  2. February 12, 2010 7:09 pm

    A wonder… those first blades that part the earth… and bring us great joy. Congratulations!

  3. February 13, 2010 5:18 pm

    Isn’t nature wonderful – enjoy the rest of your weekend – a lovely posting – Miranda

  4. February 14, 2010 12:19 pm

    hi! i’m eleni from greece! thank you for visitig my blog!
    your blog is fantastic!

  5. February 14, 2010 9:46 pm

    That is so clever to use the string of rope lights as a heat source ~ way cheaper than a heat mat!! Congrats on your new sprouts ~ hope there’s lots more.

Leave a Reply

