Skip to content

March Bloom Day

March 16, 2010

A day late for garden bloggers’ bloom day, but it was pouring rain all weekend. Today was a beautiful sunny day and I finally have blooms in the yard!

crocus

crocus

crocus

As pretty as the crocuses are, this is pretty much all of them. There are a few more of the darker purple ones, but I want more flowers that bloom early. Hellebores are at the top of my wishlist. I haven’t seen any around the neighborhood, but I get the impression they bloom earlier and form larger clumps.

For more great blooms, be sure to visit Carol, founder of Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day, at May Dreams Gardens. There you’ll find all the links to bloom day participants.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 10:29 pm

    Lovely! I like all of them, but the stripy looks different!

  2. March 17, 2010 8:46 am

    I wandered here from GBBD at May Dreams Gardens – your post was a few above mine. All I have blooming is Iris reticulata ‘Clairette,’ but that is enough. I don’t know if my crocus are blooming – they are way out back and it’s mooshy out there from lots of rain. I really enjoyed your flowers – your crocus are beautiful and you take beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing them!

  3. March 21, 2010 10:39 pm

    Wow! These are amazing close-ups! It is great to get out and see signs that the land is waking from its winter sleep. happy Spring!

  4. March 24, 2010 1:43 am

    GORGEOUS crocus photos Kate! I didn’t have any hellebores until last year then after seeing them on everyone’s garden blogs, I had to buy some! I thought they would be blooming before now but they have just started (two of them anyway). I was hoping way earlier but maybe it’s the strange weather this year? I hope you get to add some.

Leave a Reply

