Skip to content

Happy Spring!

March 22, 2010

Found another spring flower, but I don’t know what it is.

flowers

I planted my first bulbs, last fall, mostly daffodils, and a few tulips. These are the first tulips coming up. It will be fun to watch them bloom since I have no idea what they will look like. They are a gift from my garden guru, who had them left over from a garden club project.

tulips

I’m especially happy to see the irises coming up. These were my first transplants and it’s good to see that I didn’t kill them. They also have a bit more room to spread out in their new location. Now I can transplant the rest of them with a bit more confidence they’ll survive. That certainly makes planning easier.

iris

The weather has been unusually warm and sunny, lately. It’s been wonderful. I’ve prepared the vegetable beds for spring planting. The soil in the raised beds was very easy to work, nothing at all like digging a bed from scratch. Most of the compost I added in the fall has already broken down into the soil. Last year’s compost is ready to add to the beds. I have leaf mold ready to mulch with. This year, I also have fresh worm castings. What a wonderful time of year!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Elephant's Eye permalink
    March 24, 2010 3:12 am

    Ooh I envy you raised beds with soil that is easy to work. We are still at the clay soil, baked to concrete by summer sun, waiting for winter rain stage. Today the wind that brings the winter rain is blowing – which is good for us.

  2. March 25, 2010 11:39 pm

    Could the pretty white blooms be those of Ornithogalum?? Looks like they might be to me?? I don’t have any planted in my garden but I’ve seen them around. Maybe I should add them if they are early bloomers!! We can always use more of those, right? It will be fun to see what your tulips look like. I’ve forgotten what I planted last fall so I’m going to have fun this spring too.

  3. April 3, 2010 1:34 pm

    Don’t be surprised if those irises don’t flower for you this year. We planted some as passalongs from a gardening friend and they didn’t in the first year, we’re hoping they will this year, the second year. She said it wasn’t at all unusual for them not to in the first year after transplanting.

Leave a Reply

