Skip to content

Seed Grow Project

April 4, 2010

Happy Easter! Halleluia!

Easter flowers

Today is the first official GROW project posting. It’s still a bit early, here in Connecticut. The weather is warming, but we had floods early in the week with record high water levels in the area. So, I haven’t planted my nasturtiums. I did do some gardening, yesterday. I’ve got a few places to try the nasturtiums. I’ll be trying to grow them on the arbor in the middle of the veggie garden.

I also have a spot picked out for them in the paisley garden. In preparation, I’ve ‘planted’ a branch there that was pruned off the lilac bushes, last year. Yesterday, I planted sweet peas around the branch. When we’re closer to the last frost date, I’ll plant the nasturtiums with them. From what I’ve read, sweet peas are a cooler season flower and nasturtiums warmer. I’m wondering if their bloom periods will follow one another and give me a nice progression of flowers. I may even add morning glories to the mix for the summer.

I ‘planted’ another stick in the kitchen garden and one outside the veggie garden. For now, those have the sweet peas that I planted yesterday, but I may add nasturtiums. I think mid-May is the start of the warm season planting, here. My garden guru even waits until June 1st. Sometime this month, I’ll probably put a few seeds out with soda bottle greenhouse covers, just to give them a head-start and see what happens.

Until next month,

“I’m growing Nasturtium “Spitfire” for the GROW project, thanks to ReneesGarden.com for the seeds.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 11:24 pm

    Nasturtiums are super easy to grow, and they grow quickly. But they do like warm weather. We are having rather unseasonably warm weather though, and I’m having trouble not jumping ahead myself. But we are bound to have cooler rainy periods before May 1st (my traditional planting date for warmer season crops). But you have given me an idea for 2 trellises while I wait for the clematis to grow for another few seasons.

  2. April 5, 2010 5:16 am

    Beautiful Easter picture … hope yours was wonderful! I like the idea of the nasturtium planted on an arbor in the middle of the garden. Thanks for the idea!!

  3. April 6, 2010 2:00 am

    Last year my Nasturtiums didn’t do much until it got cooler late in the season. But when they did it was an awesome sight to behold!

  4. April 6, 2010 1:37 pm

    Oh, I love nasturtiums and sweet peas. I am looking forward to seeing them in bloom.

Leave a Reply

