Skip to content

Spring Garden Adventures

April 9, 2010

The forsythia is in full bloom. Harsh yellow has got to be my least favorite color in the garden, but the garden fairy loves the flowering shrubs. I think she loves yellow flowers even more because she’s allowed to pick them. Not that she doesn’t pick anything she wants when I don’t watch closely. Still, the flowers I like have better odds when there are plenty of flowers she’s allowed to pick. The dandelions are starting to bloom and she’s encouraged to pick as many of those as she wants to.

forsythia

The first clump of daffodils is blooming. These were here when we bought the house, but this is the first time they’ve bloomed. Notice the color. I planted a variety of pink types in the front gardens. The first of those bloomed yesterday. It’s been too rainy to get a picture, but maybe a few more buds will open when the sun comes out.

daffodils

We’ve had some beautiful weather this week. The garden fairy has enjoyed playing in her sandbox and helping to water the garden. I think her favorite part of watering the garden is sneaking off to fill up any nearby bucket to wade in. She can’t wait for summer swimming.

I’ve been busy planting the spring garden with old favorites: peas, carrots, lettuce, spinach, onions, parsnips and turnips. I also planted several new things to try: chard, pak choi, broccoli raab, radishes and a stir fry mix of greens. I’m planning to replant some of these for the fall, along with cabbage and brussels sprouts. I started some cabbage and brussels sprouts several weeks ago, along with many other early starts. Unfortunately, they were casualties of the garden fairy’s fascination with the sand I used to provide bottom heat with a string of rope lights. That set-up was put on the highest shelf for the next round of planting. Anyway, I hear the cooling weather gives better flavor to these types of veggies.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 12:39 pm

    I do love the yellow flowers in your garden. Although, I must admit the cooler colors of blue and pink are my favorites 🙂 I hope your vegetable garden will soon be producing for you.

  2. April 9, 2010 12:42 pm

    I encourage my kids to pick me dandelion bouquets when I don’t have time to mow my small lawn and I don’t want them to go to seed. No weeds yet though, still under lots of snow.

    Christine in Alaska

Leave a Reply

