Skip to content

Bleeding Heart

April 24, 2010

The bleeding heart was the most admired plant in my bloom day post. I must confess, it was my neighbor’s bleeding heart. He has an enormous patch of it in one corner of his garden. The bloom day photo was his plant, peeking through the fence. At the time, my bleeding hearts only had itty bitty buds. This is one of mine, which started blooming about a week later. There are a couple plants that have grown from seeds dropped through the fence. I’ll be moving those to the garden fairy’s heart garden, this weekend. She loves the little pink hearts. I also need to add compost and mulch to the heart garden. It doesn’t get full sun, but it has bare soil that dries out, not so good with moisture loving shade plants.

bleeding heart

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 9:50 am

    I just love Bleeding Hearts. We have a couple and they are so special. I’ve never grown them in the past and didn’t realize that they add so much to a garden. Love the picture.

  2. April 24, 2010 11:36 pm

    I think the dicentra flowers are my favorite flowers that I cannot grow in my climate 🙂

Leave a Reply

