Skip to content

Grow Project Nasturtiums Sown

May 3, 2010

The weather has been unusually warm through March and April, but there’s still a chance of frosts. I did plant my nasturtium seeds, but only last week. I haven’t seen signs of sprouting, yet. I planted them all over the garden. Some are at the base of the trellis in the veggie garden, some are planted around the pruned and ‘planted’ lilac branches with the sweet pea sprouts and morning glory seeds, and some are planted in hanging baskets. I also have two varieties from last year that I planted, a blend of vine types and the more compact ‘cherry rose jewel’. It will be interesting to see how they do.

Of two dozen tulip bulbs planted, only three showed any sign of growth and only this one bloomed with three flowers. The garden fairy got one of them before I could get a picture. She’s working on learning to ask first. I’m working on filling the garden with flowers, so that I’ll have plenty to enjoy and photograph even after she’s picked enough to amuse herself.

tulip

Until next month,
“I’m growing Nasturtium “Spitfire” for the GROW project. Thanks, to Renee’s Garden for the seeds.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

