Skip to content

Butterflies in the Garden

May 12, 2010

I saw the first butterfly in the garden about a week and a half ago, but didn’t have my camera handy. Over the weekend, he returned for another visit and brought friends. There were a couple of yellow ones and a smaller orange one that stayed just out of range of a good shot.

yellow butterfly

The garden fairy was a wonderful hostess for our visitors. We watched them flit among the lilacs and I told her how the butterflies drink their nectar. She asked me to cut her some lilacs to feed to the butterflies. I did and she held her branches of flowers out for butterflies, who ignored them.

yellow butterfly

Her memory is amazing, though. She remembers holding out sticks of birdseed for the budgies at the zoo, a couple of years ago. The birds were more accustomed to eating from sticks held by children. They descended on the little treat she held steady for them. She loved it.

yellow butterfly

I bet she’d love hatching butterflies. I know science classes do it and I’ve read about other bloggers doing it with their kids, so there must be places to get the cocoons. I’ll have to look into it. In the meantime, I hear my little angel has been talking to Grandpa about the parakeets he breeds. Oh, the joys of a toddler with advanced communication skills and oodles of charm.

yellow butterfly

If you’d like ideas or inspiration for gardening with children, you may like this new blog series I stumbled across. I’m not entirely clear on the details yet, so click on the button to check it out for yourself. I’ve added the button to my sidebar, also, since this series will run through the summer.

Inadvertent Farmer

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nell Jean permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:35 pm

    They seem more shy this time of year and pics are hard to capture.

  2. Soguesoosebam permalink
    May 18, 2010 10:06 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian

Trackbacks

  1. Growing Herbs : How to Grow Coriander/Cilantro

Leave a Reply

