Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

May 15, 2010

The garden is finally looking like a happy growing place. Many plants are just coming into bloom, with only one flower for bloom day, but the promise of a wonderful show before too long. The daffodils and the one tulip are gone. Lilacs are fading, but still provide a resting place for butterflies. The iris is the first to bloom, just this morning. The potted petunias each have one bloom. I have three more that still need pots and haven’t bloomed, yet. The regular chives are just passed their peak bloom, but the garlic chives haven’t begun blooming.

I’m trying out the gallery feature for the photos, this month. Anyone like it or not? Photos can be enlarged by clicking on them.

The money plant is interesting. The white one started blooming by the driveway. I thought it was a weed and didn’t fret when the garden fairy picked it. Then, my garden guru brought me a purple money plant that looked the same as my white weed. Hmm. I planted it in the garden fairy’s heart garden. A couple of days later, I found another tiny purple money plant just starting to bloom in the heart garden. The transplant from my garden guru has finished with its flowers and is not growing money seeds. My white one has put out new stems and is in its prime. I just noticed while editing the photos that it is starting to produce the money seeds. My garden guru lives about an hour south of me, along the Connecticut coast. Amazing what a difference there is between our gardens.

Remember to stop by Carol’s May Dreams Garden to visit more Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day participants.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 11:08 pm

    How beautiful everything is!! Thank you for posting all the wonderful photos!

    • Kate permalink*
      May 17, 2010 6:58 pm

      Thanks and you’re welcome! This is such a wonderful time of year in the garden. 🙂

  2. Bernieh permalink
    May 16, 2010 10:52 pm

    The money plant’s blooms are lovely … I just love white in the garden. The columbine is a stunner and I love your geraniums. So many lovely blooms … loved the picture gallery!

    • Kate permalink*
      May 17, 2010 6:58 pm

      Thanks! I planted their seeds last year, so it’s nice to finally see them bloom. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. How many people enjoy plants, flowers and gardens? | garden plants

Leave a Reply

