Skip to content

The Garden Fairy Chronicles – Pretty Yellow Bird

May 21, 2010

We have a new visitor to the garden. I don’t know what type he is, but this pretty yellow bird vibrant and cheerful. The garden fairy was excited watching him through the kitchen window.

yellow bird

I’m reasonably certain he’s nesting. Here, I caught him stealing fibers from a hanging basket. I don’t mind. I’ve had some of the baskets for a couple of years and they don’t wear out as quickly as I thought.

yellow bird

I’m less thrilled that he has also been pulling at the fibers in the twine that I strung on the arbor to support my pole beans. I can string more if I have to, but I’d rather not. They were woven into an intricate maze of strings, and my little friend is pulling at a string in the middle.

yellow bird

The garden fairy and I love to watch the birds in the garden. I had a feeder hanging near the garden through the winter. I hoped it would encourage them to hang around and eat grubs and bugs I don’t want eating my plants. I’m starting to wonder, though, if they are interfering with my vegetable growing.

I visited my Dad, recently. He has several parakeets. I watched them eat lettuce and remembered them eating carrot tops on previous visits. I was surprised to learn that seeds would be at the top of their food pyramid and most of their diet should consist of greens and salad stuff.

This got me thinking about the Asian stir fry greens and pak choi I planted. The seeds sprouted, but quickly became nothing more than tiny stems. I had visions of ravenous slugs, earwigs, or some unknown pest. I also planted two rows of carrot seeds, atomic red and cosmic purple. I was really looking forward to them. It’s been several weeks and I haven’t seen any sign of them growing. Insect pests, poor germination, or birds? Hmm.

I think the garden fairy might thoroughly enjoy building a scarecrow.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Garden Fairy Chronicles is my contribution to the kinderGARDENS project. The goal is to get more kids out into the garden. This week’s links can be found here, at the inadvertent farmer, or you can click the button below for all the details.

Inadvertent Farmer

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 11:15 am

    What type of bird is that…he is so vibrant! I’m so glad another garden fairy child has joined us!

    We are wanting to build a scarecrow too, I can’t wait to see what you come up with. I also just added you to the kinderGARDENS blogroll! Happy bird watching….Kim

  2. May 21, 2010 11:19 am

    How is it that I missed you lastweek for the blogroll? Ughhh I need to be more organized! Anyway if you haven’t seen this weeks kinderGARDENS post I’m having a book giveaway that your little fairy might enjoy…I know mine do!

    Anyway…happy gardening…Kim the inadvertent (and absent minded) farmer!

    Oh and as a side-note…that green dragon (damsel?) fly in your sidebar is simply stunning.

    • Kate permalink*
      May 21, 2010 2:08 pm

      Kim,

      Thanks, he was a wonderful model. He was still long enough to get several shots and then made a new pose and waited for me to adjust the camera.

      I’m pretty sure you missed me because my comments on your blog haven’t been going through. Must be a glitch in the system.

  3. May 21, 2010 11:30 am

    I’m reasonably certain that “he” is an oriole, and is actually a she! What fun to get to watch her collecting materials for her nest!

    • Kate permalink*
      May 21, 2010 2:11 pm

      Thanks for the id. We are having fun watching her. It’s funny, I call everything ‘he’ and the garden fairy calls everything ‘she’ and we’re both usually wrong.

  4. May 21, 2010 1:09 pm

    I agree with Joseph above, we have several pairs of them living here. They LOVE fruit (especially my strawberries unfortunately) and will eat from hummingbird feeders. Very pretty birds!

    • Kate permalink*
      May 21, 2010 2:14 pm

      Really? Perhaps my new strawberry bed is what attracted this bird to the garden. And I thought protecting the berries from slugs was challenging enough. She is a pretty bird, though.

  5. May 21, 2010 3:59 pm

    She sure looks cheerful!

  6. June 22, 2010 4:56 am

    Thanks for commenting on my blog! I cringe to hear your tales of woe with the pests, it’s just not fair! I enjoy your blog, love the bird photos. we love bird watching here as well. I’m saving my photos to do a page or series of pages with someday when I get the time. Right now its-gardening!!

Leave a Reply

