Skip to content

Growing Nasturtiums

June 6, 2010

I’ve got mostly photos to share today. These are mostly the spitfire nasturtiums for the GROW project update. I’d like to call attention to a couple of comparisons. This first photo was taken May 28th.

nasturtiums and morning glory

nasturtiums and morning glories outside vegetable garden

The next is the same location June 5th. That’s quite a bit of growth in only a week.

nasturtiums and morning glory

nasturtiums and morning glories outside vegetable garden

This next comparison may be trickier to see. This is the middle of my vegetable garden, with the southwest corner of the trellis. Here the nasturtiums are mingling with garlic chives, which are right next to chocolate mint.

nasturtiums and garlic chives

nasturtiums and garlic chives

And here are the nasturtiums at the south-east corner of the trellis, just under four feet away. These plants are the most bug-chewed of all the nasturtiums I planted. The likely culprits are slugs, though I’ve seen very few signs of them this year, and earwigs. The divider separates two beds, each 4′ x 10′. In the northern bed, I’m growing several varieties of beans. In the southern bed, I had cucumbers, which were completely devoured as they sprouted. I can’t help but wonder if this is companion planting at work. Are the garlic chives and mint repelling the nasty bugs? I have a pot full of garlic chives seedlings. I think I’ll plant them throughout the cucumber bed while the new batch of cucumbers is getting started in peat pots.

nasturtiums

nasturtiums, south end of trellis

nasturtiums

nasturtiums, north end of trellis

Nasturtiums seem to thrive crowded into a grouping of soda bottle planters, amidst astilbe, wild blackberries, and weeds.

nasturtiums, morning glory and sweet peas

nasturtiums, morning glory and sweet peas outside veggie garden

I have two hanging baskets with nasturtiums, hanging on the cross beams of the trellis in the vegetable garden.

nasturtiums

nasturtiums in basket

I’ve heard that nasturtiums do well in less fertile soil. This next spot has what my garden guru refers to as ‘dumb dirt’, basically dirt without amendments. The nasturtiums here look pretty happy, even happier than some in more in the much more fertile vegetable beds. I planted sweet peas also, but they sprouted and then just never grew more than an inch in the ‘dumb dirt’. This spot also gets the most sun and is the driest in my garden.

nasturtiums, morning glory and sweet peas

nasturtiums, morning glory and sweet peas in tomato bed

Here, I have nasturtiums growing in the mostly shady paisley bed, with sweet peas and morning glories. This is also a fairly dry spot, but all of the seedlings are growing well. The shade seems to help.

nasturtiums and sweet peas

nasturtiums and sweet peas in paisley garden

Until next month…

“I’m growing Nasturtium “Spitfire” for the GROW project. Thanks, to Renee’s Garden for the seeds.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 6:53 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who found interesting companion plants for the nasties, lol. I usually do plant them with morning glory but had NO LUCK with germation on MGs this year, even though I sowed about eleventy-four!

  2. June 6, 2010 8:42 pm

    You’ve got those nasties tucked into quite a few places! Won’t it be fun if everyone’s Spitfires are blooming by next month!

  3. June 9, 2010 1:39 pm

    I had sort of the same thing happen with my nasturtiums, there was one collection that was chewed up like crazy and some just a few feet away were not bothered at all.

  4. June 14, 2010 3:37 pm

    I’ve only got one going at the present time. I waited too long to plant more seeds, but perhaps the ones I just planted will amount to more than the one I have in a pot now. I’m allowing it to trail out and down instead of vine up. We’ll see how it does thru the rest of the season. I’m not very impressed by the growth habit of ‘Spitfire’ so far, and that goes for all the plants I’ve seen at other Grow project blogs.

    Your’s look healthy and some better than the one I have in a pot.

Leave a Reply

