Skip to content

Darn Those Garden Pests!

June 13, 2010

Here, we have a tray of cucumber seedlings, sown last week. I’m fairly sure the back two rows haven’t sprouted yet, but all of the front row had sprouts yesterday. Today, two are missing. The newest pest is still hiding in the picture.

cucumber seedlings

Don’t see him? Here’s a closer view. This isn’t even in the planting bed. It’s up on a shelf.

grasshopper

Here’s another hiding in some nearby weeds.

grasshopper

Here’s another piece of destruction, one my devoured dahlias.I have several. They all look like this.

devoured dahlia

I am really not amused.

I remember the joy of catching grasshoppers as a child. My parents were not gardeners. I am. The joy is gone.

In searching the web for information, I found a picture of their eggs in the soil. I remember seeing patches of them over the winter. Thing is, I have a general live and let live policy until critters are identified as pests. When I see them again, I’m squishing them. One of the grasshoppers pictured got away, but I took great delight in stomping the other.

Oh yeah, we also have a groundhog in the yard. Should I just give up the garden now?

One promising bit of info for a non-chemical gardener, the smell of cilantro might send the grasshoppers away. Also, zinnias might work as a trap crop, even better if the cilantro is between the zinnias and the garden.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 9:50 pm

    Oh wow, that’s crazy! I haven’t seen a grasshopper around here since I was a kid. I’m sure after the novelty wore off I’d remember your pictures and try to kill it.

  2. June 15, 2010 10:41 pm

    Oh my, grasshoppers!! I’m surprised they didn’t jump when you took the photo. We had something eat our seedlings too. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

