Skip to content

Squash Vine Borer Moth

June 25, 2010

I found the adult moth of the squash vine borer flying around my summer squash. I’ve been checking for eggs, but haven’t found any. I’ve been sprinkling a mixture of diatomaceous earth, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper on the vines. Hopefully, I’ll be able to prevent a borer problem this year, or at least lessen it. The moth looks red in flight, but brown when still. Either way, it’s an ugly and unwelcome critter.

squash vine borer moth

squash vine borer moth

squash vine borer moth

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 2:34 pm

    Ewww, it is ugly. Hopefully they will leave your plants alone.

  2. June 26, 2010 11:24 am

    I HATE those things… I’m trying to grow a hopefully resistant variety this year… we’ll see how it does.

Leave a Reply

