Skip to content

Fresh from the Garden Tomatoes are the Best

July 23, 2010

The tomatoes have started ripening. Yay! Actually, I have snitched the odd one, here and there, but this is the first time I’ve picked enough to use them for a meal. Tomatoes are mostly an experiment in my garden. I’m not a huge fan. The ones I used to buy at the supermarket were always disappointing. I’m guessing that farmer’s markets would have much better tomatoes, but why would I spend even more on a vegetable (I know, it’s really a fruit, but we eat it like a vegetable) that I might just not like.

This is my third year with a garden. The first, I grew brandywine pink, because my grandmother raves about them, and a common cherry, because my neighbor gave me a couple of plants he had left over after planting his. The cherries weren’t great, but the occasional one straight out of the garden was nice. The brandywines satisfied my memory of what a good tomato should taste like, but only produce a few tomatoes, late in the season. Last year, I grew four different types which I wrote about earlier in the year, in this post.

In my current garden, I have brandywine pink, speckled roman, a couple of volunteers that look like cherries, and a second generation hybrid from Joseph at Greensparrow Gardens. In the photo, the volunteer cherries are at the top and Joseph’s, from three different plants, are at the bottom. I also picked a few leaves of cinnamon basil and a couple of scallions.

cherry tomatoes

I chopped everything to make a salad, along with a couple of cloves of fresh garlic, also from my garden. This is my first time growing any of the darker tomatoes. The insides of the darker hybrid look a bit green, but they looked ripe on the vine and tasted great.

cherry tomatoes

I tossed everything together with some slices of cucumber from the store. My cucumbers had a rough start and had to be replanted after pests devoured the first planting. The new plants are only just starting to set fruit. I also added cooked brussels sprouts, chicken breast, and a bit of dressing. It was all quite good and surprisingly filling.

fresh garden dinner

I’m looking forward to more fresh tomatoes. So far, I only have one brandywine, that is far from ripe, on three small plants. Other gardeners in the area are already starting to harvest some of the bigger tomatoes. As good as Joseph’s hybrids are, next year I think I’ll try a darker big tomato, perhaps a Cherokee Purple or Black Krim? Maybe Paul Robeson?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 3:35 pm

    I don’t like store bought tomatos but all the tomatos we are growing in the garden have been so tasty! I’m looking forward to more of them ripening. Your salad looks good!

  2. July 23, 2010 5:07 pm

    I’m with you on the tomatoes. Love, love, love them from the garden. Your salad looks delicious!

  3. July 26, 2010 9:34 am

    Glad you like the tomatoes! Black Krim is one of the parents of the plants you have, so if you like their flavor, you might want to try it.

Leave a Reply

