Skip to content

A Cheeky Visitor

July 24, 2010

I first spotted this dragonfly, with bold yellow markings, flitting about the cucumber. I quickly went to get my camera. Some of his cousins have posed quite well for me, but this little guy played hard to get. A couple of times, he left my garden with me unable to get a single shot of him. For a while, I didn’t think I would. When he finally stopped to rest in the squash bed, I snapped a number of photos. Isn’t he adorable?

dragonfly

I thought we were becoming friends. Then he did the strangest thing. He turned around and lifted his tail.

dragonfly

You don’t suppose this is the dragonfly equivalent of giving me the finger? Telling me to buzz off?

dragonfly

Like any child, he soon turned to be sure he still had an audience. Wait just a minute. Did he stick his tongue out at me?

dragonfly

Here he is, once again smiling, cute as can be. Could I have got it all wrong?

dragonfly

Hmm. Maybe he wasn’t being rude at all. Then again, there’s that tail raised again. He looks a bit coy. Oh. Perhaps he was being seductive?

dragonfly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 11:09 am

    That is a pretty dragon fly. Whenever I see pretty bugs, I never have my camera with me. D’oh! Haha, it does look like he’s giving you the finger.

  2. July 24, 2010 1:36 pm

    Great pictures! I, too, never seem to have my camera with me.

  3. July 27, 2010 6:51 pm

    That’s why I always have my camera in my pocket now when I’m in the garden. I just had a dragonfly in my garden stick up his tail like that, never seen it before.

Leave a Reply

